CDPH Issues Penalties to Ten Hospitals

The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) issued ten penalties on August 15, 2013 to California hospitals along with fines ranging from $50,000 to $100,000 per hospital and totaling $675,000.  The following hospitals received penalties:

    1. Alta Bates Summit Medical Center, Oakland, Alameda County
    2. Barlow Respiratory Hospital, Los Angeles, Los Angeles County
    3. Desert Valley Hospital, Victorville, San Bernardino County
    4. Hollywood Presbyterian Medical Center, Los Angeles, Los Angeles County
    5. Marin General Hospital, Greenbrae, Marin County
    6. Memorial Medical Center, Modesto, Stanislaus County
    7. Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center, Los Angeles, Los Angeles County
    8. Sharp Memorial Hospital, San Diego, San Diego County
    9. St. Jude Medical Center, Fullerton, Orange County
    10. University of California Davis Medical Center, Sacramento, Sacramento County

For some of these hospitals, this was their second, third, or even fifth administrative penalty for “failing to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow established policies and procedures” in various medical specialties.